Federal Employment After ch 7 bankruptcy

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Federal Employment After ch 7 bankruptcy

I am currently a contractor for a federal agency. I am applying for a civil servant job at another federal agency. Will my bankruptcy (ch7, discharged about 6 months ago) disqualify me at the security check?

I will most likely get the job due to my experience and education, however, after a couple months when my background check is completed, i am concerned that my security clearance will be denied and i will be let go.

It would only be the first level of security clearance, not serect or anything like that. I would not be handling money or anything, just an entry level engineering position.

My lawyer reassured me that i could not be let go due to bankruptcy, however, i am still concerned. Has anyone had a similar experience where they either got a civil servant job after bankruptcy or were denied clearance due to bankruptcy????

My bankruptcy was discharged about five months ago and I was recently hired by a federal agency.

I disclosed my filing on the form I filled out when I was fingerprinted and "processed" for the position, before actually being hired, although it wasn't required. (It's the form that asks if you have a criminal record and if you're in default on any federal debts... Sorry I can't remember the number of the form at the moment!)

I did it only because I figured that if my bankruptcy was going to be a problem, I'd rather have them know about it up front, before they made me an official job offer and before they did the background check.

If you're nervous about not passing the security investigation because of your bk, you might want to disclose it up front like I did. You can also call the contact person listed on the job posting and ask them outright if bk would disqualify you. (Just be sure you're talking to someone who really knows!)